With working on Everything is Problematic for the past month or so, I’ve been spending a lot of timing looking at digital magazines, blogs, and other things of the sort. I’ve been trying to get a feel for how these things operate, and what I think works best about them. Alex sends me articles from all over the internet, so that was one helpful source, and its almost amazing the stuff you can find through twitter and retweets from people you like.

When I initially conceived of EiP, I pitched it as a cross between Hellogiggles and The New Inquiry. If you’re unfamiliar, Hellogiggles was started by Zooey Deschanel and her two best friends who’s names I always forget and really should learn as a website/contribution based blog for content that was ‘women friendly’ about everything from media and fashion to everyday life. The New Inquiry is a website and digital magazine that is “a space for discussion that aspires to enrich cultural and public life by putting all available resources—both digital and material—toward the promotion and exploration of ideas” — basically it was started by some post-grads who needed an outlet for their liberal arts degrees (I say lovingly). My reason for the cross-bred explanation was that Hellogiggles was more light and fun while still addressing stuff that people care about, while The New Inquiry was sharp and investigative and biting. Apparent opposites, it seemed to be that together they would be the perfect forum for… everything.

I’ve since realized that I don’t particularly care for either venue. I still think TNI is a brilliant idea and that they put out great stuff, but I also find that more often than not their content depresses me and often seems overly complicated and verbose. I know the writers are intelligent, so I’d rather their content show me that than their demonstrative language– but maybe that’s just me.
For me, Hellogiggles seems like it’s gotten out of hand. I no longer find those really interesting compelling and fun pieces I liked so much before, because they’re bared under a mountain of posts about kittens, nail polish, and thirteen year old girls (whose thoughts, to be honest, are of zero interest to me). Today I read an article on there about the stupid shit teenagers do to get high, including drinking hand sanitizer (which is 120 proof, btw). I wasn’t sure what exactly the point of the article was, since I doubt that any off-brand drug using teenagers are browsing HG, and if they are they’re probably not going to stop what they’re doing because some random chick told them so. Really, I found the piece to be more of a trying-to-hard-to-be-funny alarmist piece on teen culture. LOOK AT ALL THE TERRIBLE THINGS YOUNG PEOPLE DO! As you may have guessed from this rant, the whole thing irritated me.

But in my digital content browsing, I’ve found a number of sites that I really do like, and I thought I would share them with you.

http://www.good.is – This is probably one of my favorite new discoveries.

nplusonemag.com – I had heard about this site before, but didn’t check it out until recently. Another great site with really talented contributors.

thoughtcatalog.com – Sometimes hit and miss, it blends topics and tones in a way I like.

deeplyproblematic.com – Mainly run/written by a single person, the site explores media and a lot of other topics from a feminist perspective in a really great way.

I’ll add more as I find them. Any suggestions on sites I should check out?

